The Weitzman School Awards celebrate the achievements of visionary Weitzman students, faculty, and alumni, as well as leaders in architecture and planning outside of our community—while building support for the next generation.  The Awards provide an opportunity for our community to leverage its long and productive history of collaborating across all disciplines—art and design, planning, and preservation—to take on the world’s most significant challenges while reshaping the professions we lead and the communities in which we work. 

The Stuart Weitzman School of Design Awards

Lori Kanter Tritsch standing outside

The Kanter Tritsch Prize in Energy and Architectural Innovation and The Kanter Tritsch Medal in Architecture

Established in 2017 by a generous gift from Weitzman School of Design alumna Lori Kanter Tritsch and Penn Trustee and Wharton alumnus William P. Lauder, the Kanter Tritsch Prize is awarded annually to a second-year Master of Architecture student in the form of a $50,000 scholarship, which covers the bulk of tuition and fees in the final year of study. Every year, the Weitzman School of Design also awards a Medal to a practicing architect or architects for leadership in energy and architectural innovation.

Bill Witte and Keiko Sakamoto standing facing camera

The Witte-Sakamoto Family Prize and Medal in City and Regional Planning

Established in 2018 by a generous gift from Weitzman School of Design alumnus Bill Witte and his wife Keiko Sakamoto, the Witte-Sakamoto Family Prize in City and Regional Planning provides a $50,000 scholarship, awarded annually to a student entering their final year in the Master of City and Regional Planning program, which covers the bulk of tuition and fees in the final year of study. In conjunction with the Prize, the School presents an annual Medal to a firm, team, or professional for an exemplary plan that advances plan-making in at least four of the following areas: social equity, environmental quality, design, public health, mobility, housing affordability, and economic development.

Stuart Weitzman School of Design Leadership

Weitzman Leadership

  • Frederick SteinerDean and Paley Professor
  • Chris CataldoDirector of Finance and Administration
  • Andrew SaundersAssociate Professor and Acting Chair of Architecture
  • Jamie EidlinDirector of Admissions and Financial Aid
  • Michael GrantSenior Director of Communications
  • Leslie HurtigVice Dean for Administration
  • Alex JarymorychDirector of IT Services
  • Ken LumMarilyn Jordan Taylor Presidential Professor and Chair of Fine Arts
  • Frank MateroGonick Family Professor and Chair of Historic Preservation
  • Emily McCullyRegistrar
  • Kali MeeksAssociate Director for Professional Development and Leadership 
  • Matt NeffDirector of the Undergraduate Program in Fine Arts
  • Rashida NgPresidential Associate Professor of Architecture and Chair, Undergraduate Architecture
  • Lisa ServonKevin and Erica Penn Presidential Professor and Chair of City and Regional Planning
  • Jeff SnyderAssistant Dean of Development and Alumni Relations
  • Karyn TufaroloDirector of Faculty Affairs Diversity/Equity/Inclusion Initiatives & Online Learning Initiatives
  • Catherine SeavittMartin and Margy Meyerson Chair of Urbanism and Chair of Landscape Architecture
  • Karl WellmanDirector of Operations and Planning

Weitzman Board of Advisors

  • Matt Nord, Chair
  • John Carrafiell
  • Roberta Dranoff
  • Loren Easton
  • Jeffrey Fine
  • Mark Gardner
  • Jay Goldman
  • Mark Goldstein
  • Dawn Gonick
  • Eric Gribetz
  • Vicki Panzier Gross
  • Michael Halpern
  • Mason Haupt
  • Lee Huang
  • Albert Kalimian
  • Mireya Kam
  • Lori  Kanter Tritsch
  • Steven Lefkowitz
  • Ben Lin
  • Richard Linhart
  • Michael G. Manasse
  • Kevin Penn
  • Bonnie Stone Sellers
  • Amrita Sen
  • David Smith
  • Patricia Pickman Udell
  • Stuart Weitzman
  • Barbara Wilks ​